Inspiring the Senses

Or: Being a Foodie and a Writer Has Both Perks and Drawbacks

wpid-wp-1442361331338.jpg

Food Stuff:
6 puff pastry squares
Frozen (or fresh) raspberries
12 dark chocolate Hershey kisses (or a bar of your favorite dark chocolate)
Powdered sugar

Tools Needed:
Baking sheet
Foil or parchment paper
Freezer
Sharp knife
Fork

Make It:
Line baking sheet with parchment paper or greased foil. Let your puff pastry thaw to a cold but malleable temperature. Chop up your chocolate into fairly small pieces. Slightly thaw your raspberries (or wash them if they’re fresh).
Now that all that difficult prep is done, Here comes the hard part.
One each pastry sheet, place a few berries and about two kisses or sections worth of chocolate (I chopped up my kisses in pairs to keep the amount consistent).

wpid-wp-1442361348090.jpg

Fold over the pastry sheet so it makes a triangle. press the sides together with your fingers and then crimp close with a fork. Place the pastries on the baking sheet and put in the freezer for 10-15 minutes to firm up.
Preheat the oven to 375.
Have a few sips of wine for undertaking that arduous work.

wpid-wp-1442361342761.jpg
Take the baking sheet out of the freezer. Slice a few holes (or make letters or pattern shapes, whatevs) in the top of each pastry. Bake for 15-20 minutes until your pastries are light brown, crispy, and probably oozing a bit of juice if you used frozen berries. Pull out of the oven and let cool for about 5 minutes. Dust with powdered sugar.

Things I Learned:

  • Puff pastry squares are a cheap, tasty solution to many a pastry dilemma
  • When you want a rich dessert without a lot of work or ingredients, chocolate and raspberry are always a win
  • Said pastry squares also make it look like you put way more effort into something than you actually did – impress your friends with minimal effort!
  • Even when being judicious with your filling, do not eat two of these after a full meal unless you want to test your stomach capacity to a nauseating degree
  • Be judicious with your filling. If you can’t easily close up the sheet, take a bit out until you can. Unless you don’t mind somewhat leaky seams
  • Egg washes make things pretty and help a bit with seals, but they’re not essential. Which is great when you’re allergic to egg yolks.

The Story:

Among my many passions, skills and ambitions, I happen to be a sometimes-writer. Sometimes in the sense that sometimes I actually get paid to write things, writer in the sense that the act of creating with words is pretty much like breathing for me.

So really it’s a marvel it took me this long to craft a food blog because what do I love more than food and writing? Basically nothing (no, not even sex — I can go without sex, wonderful as it is, for long stretches of time. A day without food or writing and I will become a hangry monster bent on world destruction.).

The other evening I was hunkered down toward the end of a stressful day, trying to hit my daily word count goal. I was writing a dinner scene between two characters and one of them brings dessert — a chocolate raspberry tart. No sooner had I typed those words than my mouth began watering. I froze. I couldn’t move on with the story. I needed that food, and I needed it now. A new tab opened, and I was on the hunt for something easy, but delicious.

For someone who genuinely like Pinterest as much as I do, it really is daunting when recipe hunting. Once again, it would have been easy to give up when after scanning through multiple recipes I found most too complex or my kitchen too lacking in necessary ingredients. Once again, though, my mental kitchen inventory told me I have frozen berries, I had some long-neglected dark chocolate kisses, and leftover puff pastry sheets from my Shepherd’s Pie. Why not work with that?

Making these was a bit time consuming only because I was basically winging it with everything and am not a pastry chef by mature. Not to mention I was practically trembling with desire to have a hot chocolate-berry explosion in my mouth ever since the words ‘chocolate raspberry’ traveled from my brain to my fingers to the screen. Still the process was super easy. The powdered sugar an afterthought once the first bite hit me with a sultry tang and I felt it needed just a hint more of sweetness. Missions accomplished, I was able to return to my story and hit my word count goal for the day… and also sneak a second pastry in, which was not my best decision this week, but hey, sometimes you need a touch of gluttony in your life.

coffee-841099_1280

Leave a Reply

